Scholarship Program

Scholarship Program

Fort Washington Alumnae Chapter’s (FWAC) Scholarship Program has been in existence since the chapter‘s inception. FWAC awards scholarships to graduating high school students from Southern Prince George’s County and Charles County. In the first year, FWAC awarded $500.00 in scholarships. Since the first year, through the dedicated efforts of the Chapter, the amount awarded to deserving students has significantly increased every year. The Chapter has awarded over $266,000 in scholarships to over 240 area high school students. Scholarships have been awarded to graduated seniors who have demonstrated a significant level of academic success, social awareness, and community involvement, as they pursue a goal of higher education.


Applicants must live in Prince George’s County or Charles County, Maryland or attend a school in our service area (unless applicant is a current member of FWAC’s Delta GEMS). Our service area high schools are: Central, Crossland, Frederick Douglass, Friendly, Gwynn Park, Henry Lackey, LaPlata, Largo, Maurice J. McDonough, North Point, Oxon Hill, Potomac, St. Charles, Suitland, Surrattsville, Thomas Stone, Westlake, and Dr. Henry A. Wise.

The Scholarship Committee evaluates candidates based on community service, academic achievement, a personal statement, a written essay, an interview and letters of recommendation. Community Service is the essential component of the award. All applicants must possess a minimum grade point average of 2.5 calculated through the end of the second quarter school year and plan to enroll full-time in an accredited two or four-year college/university in the summer or in the year of the award.

FWAC provides payment of all scholarship money, on behalf of the recipient, directly to the college or university where the recipient is enrolled. FWAC scholarship awards may only be used to pay tuition, room and board, and fees. Students may apply for the FWAC scholarship, even if they have applied for or received scholarship awards from any other source, including other chapters of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. The scholarship will only be granted for the academic year that it is awarded.

Scholarship applications are due March of every year.  Please check Recent News on our Home Page for the application announcement and deadline information.

Scholarship Application


The FWAC scholarship applications are now open!

Graduating high school students who attend schools in Southern Prince George’s County (south of Central Avenue/Route 214) and Charles County who have demonstrated a concern for their community while maintaining academic excellence are encouraged to apply. 

Full-time students majoring in elementary education attending Bowie State University, or the University of District of Columbia in their junior year or higher are encouraged to apply for the Marie Marshall Higher Education Teacher’s Scholarship.

Applications must be postmarked or received electronically no later than March 7, 2022, to be considered. For questions please email

Click the Links Below to Download the Application of your Choice.

2022 Scholarship Application

2022 Marie Marshall Higher Education Teacher’s Scholarship